History of the marina
In 1975, the project to build a new port was raised for the first time in the Town Council of Saint-Quay-Portrieux, but it wasn’t until 1978 that the idea took shape. François Héry, the stubborn Mayor of the town then decided to make it his personal mission, managing to convince the services of State, the Region and the Department of the benefits of this project.
It was not until the 16 July 1988, that the work on the future “Nouveau Port de Saint-Quay-Portrieux” began, launched by Charles Josselin, president of the General Council of Côtes d’Armor. Entirely reclaimed from the sea, this deep water port, unique harbour of its kind between Cherbourg and Brest required 2 years of titanesque work. Rock blasting, construction of breakwaters, docks and quaysides by means of a fleet of trucks carrying some 2.3 million tonnes of rock coming from quarries in the area… It was at that time the biggest construction site in Brittany.
Inaugurated on July 12, 1990, in the presence of Éric Tabarly, the “Nouveau Port de Saint-Quay-Portrieux” marked a turning point in the development of both yachting and fishing activities. Protected by 1.7 km of breakwaters, the basin of 17 hectares, occupied in its northern part by the fishing port and auction room, in its southern part by 1000 berths on pontoons for pleasure boats, and completed by 5 hectares of public spaces, was to become one of the most dynamic marinas in Brittany.
Initially conceded to a private company, the Société du Nouveau Port (SNP), the marina and commercial spaces encountered mixed success from their very beginnings. Thus in 1998, the department and the town decided to create a publicly owned company “Syndicat Mixte Saint-Quay Port d’Armor”, to ensure the management of the marina which was then renamed “Saint-Quay Port d’Armor “. A new depart which quickly allowed the marina to achieve the success that we all know and that has not faded, nearly 30 years later …